June 10, 2013

  • 畫作:萬古磐石 (Rock of Ages) 8.6.2013 Pastel on Canson pa

     

     

      Augustus M. Toplady, (1740-1778)是英國人,在他未滿周歲前,他的父親戰死沙場,為國捐軀。十六歲時,受到一位平信徒的講道的感動而決志為主奉獻一生,二十二歲在愛爾蘭聖三一大學畢業後,在聖公會牧會牧養工作十四載,繼而轉牧倫敦長老會。虔誠辛勞侍奉,主懷安息終年僅三十八歳。

      被聖詩典考稱為「英文四大傑作之一」的「萬古磐石」(Rock of Ages) 寫於他離世前兩年。 寫作的背境有兩個傳說。據聞有一次他在旅途中遇到狂風,進退維谷,唯有暫時躲入一大石穴內躲避風雨,雖然洞外狂風怒號,地動山搖,但在石穴內卻平靜安穩;令他想到主耶穌是普世萬人的拯救磐石,就在洞內寫下了這首曠世名詩。 又有另一個傳說,有一天當他漫步野散步,不經意發現有三隻嗷嗷待哺弱小無助的雛鳥,匿藏在磐石穴中棲身,因而觸發了他的靈感成詩。 

    Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
    Let me hide myself in Thee;
    Let the water and the blood,
    From Thy wounded side which flowed,
    Be of sin the double cure,
    Save from wrath and make me pure.
     
     萬古磐石為我開,容我藏身在主懷;願因主流水和血,

    洗我一生諸罪孽,洗我內外全清潔,罪惡污穢盡除滅。

     

    Not the labor of my hands
    Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
    Could my zeal no respite know,
    Could my tears forever flow,
    All for sin could not atone;
    Thou must save, and Thou alone. 

    勤勞直到臨終時,一生流淚永不止,依舊不能贖罪過,

    惟有耶穌能救我;兩手空空無代價,靠主捨命在十架。

    Nothing in my hand I bring,
    Simply to Thy cross I cling;
    Naked, come to Thee for dress;
    Helpless, look to Thee for grace;
    Foul, I to the fountain fly;
    Wash me, Savior, or I die.

    我乃空手就主前,十字架下求哀憐,赤身望主賜衣裳,

    懦弱靠主變剛強,污穢進到活水旁,懇求洗我免淪亡。

    While I draw this fleeting breath,
    When my eyes shall close in death,
    When I rise to worlds unknown,
    And behold Thee on Thy throne,
    Rock of Ages, cleft for me,
    Let me hide myself in Thee. 

    當我呼吸餘一息,當我臨終目垂閉,當我上昇到天堂,

    覲見主在寶座上,萬古磐石為我開,容我藏身在主懷。

      Augustus M. Toplady, (1740-1778)

     

    陳慧忠  10.6.2013

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *